Search Individual media Reference department
Quotations department Media department Reference department

1954 August

Members of the ITA
Photo ITA

Some of the members of the inaugural Independent Television Authority. Chairman Sir Kenneth Clark, in typical fashion, leans against the marble pillar. The others are (l to r): Lord Layton, G B Thorneycroft, Margaret Popham, Sir Robert Fraser (Director General), Sir Ronald Matthews, Lieut-Col Arthur Chichester, Dr T J Honeyman and Dilys Powell.

The first members of the ITA were
Sir Kenneth Clark (chairman), chairman of the Arts Council, formerly director of the National Gallery, member of the BBC General Advisory Council (from which he resigned 2 September 1955)
Sir Charles Colston* (deputy chairman), newly retired as chairman and managing director of Hoover.
Lord Aberdare, chairman of the National Association of Boys' Clubs
Lt-Col Arthur Chichester, industrialist, formerly clerk of the Northern Ireland parliaments  (representing Northern Ireland)
Sir Henry Hinchcliffe, a director of Barclay's Bank
Dr T J Honeyman, director the Glasgow Galleries (representing Scotland)
Lord Layton, newspaper and magazine publisher and former editor
Margaret Popham, educationist (future principal of Cheltenham Ladies College)
Dilys Powell, film critic of the Sunday Times
G B Thorneycroft, general secretary of the Transport Salaried Staffs Association (trades union)

*Colston resigned on 9 December 1954 and was replaced as deputy chairman by
Sir Ronald Matthews, company director, former chairman of London and North Eastern Railway (LNER)


Return to previous page


Page updated 28 July 2008